The Central Utah STEM Fair (CUSF) Committee would like to welcome you to our fair. CUSF is a regional science competition presented by the Brigham Young University David O. McKay School of Education and the BYU-Public School Partnership. As a committee it is our goal to excite students about science by providing a venue where they can present and share the lessons they have learned in their classrooms combined with their own interests and discoveries.

The fair is open to 5-12 grade students in the following school districts: Alpine, Jordan, Nebo, Provo, and Wasatch.

Students who attend charter or private schools within the boundaries of these school districts and home-schooled students within the Wasatch Home Educator’s Network are also eligible to participate.

All students must attend two pre-qualifying fairs in order to advance on to compete at CUSF. These fairs would include a school fair and a district fair. There are over 100,000 eligible students within the CUSF fair territory and approximately 900 of these students advance on to compete at CUSF each year.

At the Central Utah STEM Fair students compete against other students of their same age and in categories of their own choosing. Elementary students in grades 5-6 compete in the Elementary Division. Students in grades 7-8 compete in the Junior Division and students in grades 9-12 compete in the Senior Division. Elementary Division categories can be found here. Secondary – Junior & Senior – Division categories can be found here.

Students may compete as individuals or in teams of up to three members. Student projects are eligible for three different types of awards. There are category awards, special awards, and grand awards.

The Central Utah STEM Fair is largely supported through funds and staffing provided by the David O. McKay School of Education and the BYU-Public School Partnership. Fair policies are coordinated through affiliation with the Intel International Science Fair as well as the BYU Public School Partnership Governing Board. The Central Utah STEM Fair Advisory Committee consists of BYU Faculty and Staff, District Science Coordinators and schoolteachers.

District Science Coordinators:

Alpine District:
David van Dijk, dvandijk@alpinedistrict.org

Jordan Elementary (5-6) District:
Paul Nance, paul.nance@jordandistrict.org

Jordan Secondary (7-12) District:
Hiram Bertoch, hiram.bertoch@jordandistrict.org

Nebo District:
Jared Broadbent, jared.broadbent@nebo.edu
Darwin Deming, darwin.deming@nebo.edu

Provo District:
Sara Mcaffee, saram@provo.edu

Wasatch District:
James Judd, james.judd@wasatch.edu
Mary Barger, mary.barger@wasatch.edu