The Central Utah STEM Fair (CUSF) Committee would like to welcome you to our fair. CUSF is a state regional STEM competition affiliated with the Society for Science & The Public’s International Science & Engineering Fair (ISEF). As a committee it is our goal to excite students about science by providing a venue where they can present and share the lessons they have learned in their classrooms combined with their own interests and discoveries.

The fair is open to 5-12 grade students in the following school district boundaries: Alpine, Jordan, Nebo, Provo, and Wasatch. Students who attend charter or private schools within the boundaries of these school districts and home-schooled students within the Wasatch Home Educator’s Network are also eligible to participate.

All students must attend two pre-qualifying fairs in order to advance on to compete at CUSF. These fairs would include a school fair and a district fair. There are over 100,000 eligible students within the CUSF fair territory and approximately 900 of these students advance on to compete at CUSF as a Finalist each year.

At the Central Utah STEM Fair students compete against other students of their same age and in categories of their own choosing. Elementary students in grades 5-6 compete in the Elementary Division. Students in grades 7-8 compete in the Junior Division and students in grades 9-12 compete in the Senior Division. Elementary Division categories can be found here. Secondary – Junior & Senior – Division categories can be found here.

Students may compete as individuals or in teams of up to three members. Student projects are eligible for three different types of awards — Category Awards, Special Awards, and Grand Awards.

A news story about CUSF’s top finalists who competed in the 2019 International Science & Engineering Fair:

District Science Coordinators:

Alpine District:
David van Dijk, dvandijk@alpinedistrict.org

Charter Schools:
Julie Adamic, julie@johnhancockcs.org

Jordan Elementary (5-6) District:
Paul Nance, paul.nance@jordandistrict.org

Jordan Secondary (7-12) District:
Hiram Bertoch, hiram.bertoch@jordandistrict.org

Nebo District:
Jared Broadbent, jared.broadbent@nebo.edu
Darwin Deming, darwin.deming@nebo.edu

Provo District:
Sara Mcaffee, saram@provo.edu

Wasatch District:
James Judd, james.judd@wasatch.edu
Mary Barger, mary.barger@wasatch.edu